Hudgins-Sallee Award


The Investigator of the Year Award 

Eligibility | Hudgins-Sallee Criteria | Investigator of the Year Criteria | Nomination Forms


Hudgins-Sallee Award

The Hudgins-Sallee Award was first established by TALI on October 27, 1995. This is the most distinguished, honorable and noble award that can be presented to a Member of TALI by their peers. This award was established in remembrance of two outstanding deceased TALI members — Virginia Hudgins and David Sallee. Virginia and David passed away within one month of each other in 1995. They both devoted over 20 years of their lives to TALI and both were Honorary Lifetime Members for their years of dedication, service and devotion to TALI. They both served on the TALI Board of Directors and numerous committees. 
TALI is what it is today because of the efforts, devotion and contributions made by members like Virginia and David. Therefore, the Hudgins-Sallee Award was established in their memory to exemplify the high moral and ethical standards by which a professional licensed private investigator adheres to in his/her services to the Texas Association of Licensed Investigators. The title was changed to the Investigator of the Year Award in 2017. Recognizing the value of service to the association distinct and separate from excellence in field work, the title was returned to Hudgins-Sallee Award in 2021. 
Past recipients of the prestigious Investigator of the Year Award are:
2020 Ron Potts
2019 Randy Kildow, TBCI
2018 Peggy Walla
2017 Mark W. Stephens
Past recipients of the prestigious Hudgins-Sallee Award are:
2016  Wes Bearden, TCI
2015  Ed Martin, TCI, CFE
2014 John Feighery, TCI
2013 Kelly Riddle, TCI
2012 Randy Kildow, TCI

2011 Macklyn Smith, TCI

2010 James Bearden, TCI

2009 Paul Hulsey, TCI

2008 Brad Bacom, TCI

2007 Rob Smith, TCI

2006 Brack Warren

2005 George Cervantes, CLI, CII

2004 Carol Tharp, TCI

2003 Karen Hewitt, TCI

2002 Rob Smith, TCI
2001 Ken DeFoor
2000 Patti James, CLI, TCI
1999 Edie Lee, TCI
1998 John Chism
1997 Naomi Wilson
1996 Brian Tynes
Past recipients of the John Chism Award are:
2016 Robert Allen

The Investigator of the Year Award

The Investigator of the Year Award was created in 2021 in recognition of the significant value in the efforts of Private Investigators in the field and the impact these investigations have in the lives of their clients. The Investigator of the Year award celebrates those investigators for their contributions to the profession and the difference they make in the greater Texas community.


  1. Any Active, Associate or Affiliate member of TALI is eligible for these awards.
  2. Nominees must be a licensed private investigator.
  3. Affiliate member nominees must be working as an employee of a licensee or an agency who is exempt from licensure and is performing full-time investigative work.

Back to top

Hudgins-Sallee Award Criteria

Judging will be based on achievements and contributions made during the past or current year using the following criteria:
  • Teaching for the TALI region meetings, seminars and conferences
  • Providing training articles for The Texas Investigator (TTI) magazine or other industry magazines
  • Providing guidance and mentoring to new TALI family investigators
  • Participation in TALI leadership by service in various committees or the TALI Board
  • Legislative efforts in behalf of hte TALI membership and professional PI industry

Back to top

Investigator of the Year Award Criteria

Judging will be based on achievements and contributions made during the past or current year specifically addressing outstanding professional achievement, either a case or service. 

Back to top

Nomination Forms